If you’re looking for a great story to share with your young ones, check out Drew Daywalt’s “Crayon” books.

The first book in the series, “The Day the Crayons Quit”, came out in 2013, so you may already have it in your collection. It’s a fun, imaginative story featuring all of your favorite crayon colors.


When little Duncan opens his box of crayons, all he finds is a stack of letters, each from a different crayon explaining why they’ve decided to quit and leave home. Some of them are sick of being used for only one thing or not at all, while others are tired and worn out from overuse. Each color tells a story, and the illustrations by Oliver Jeffers are a lot of fun.

Fast forward to 2015, and we have a followup, called “The Day the Crayons Came Home”.


In this story, Duncan receives a pile of postcards in the mail. We learn what adventures Duncan’s crayons have had since quitting, and they have had some wildly different experiences! Some didn’t make it very far at all, while others have been out to see the world. The crayons are coming home, and you won’t be disappointed by the ending.

Check these books out if you’re looking for something fun to read with the kids.

Here they are on Amazon:

The Day the Crayons Quit

The Day the Crayons Came Home

Keep burping!

Join our frogalicious list

Get a free e-book, exclusive insights, small stories to share with your kids and more.

Frogalicious News

You have Successfully Subscribed!

Join Our Newsletter

Want those exclusive coloring pages?

Of course you do.

When you sign up for our newsletter, you'll also get a free copy of The Great Escape (Goblin & Pig #1) right away.

Then stay tuned for bonus material, updates about upcoming books, and of course the exclusive alphabet coloring pages!


Be Frogalicious - Sign up right now.

You have Successfully Subscribed!